USAID Digital Development Award

USAID Digital development award

Business registration

Application is now open for the Digital Development Award program 2022 of the United States Agency For International Development (USAID)

USAID is working toward a future in which digital technology enables inclusive growth, resilient and democratic societies, and empowers everyone, especially the most vulnerable and excluded. USAID is happy to announce the 2022 Digital Development Awards, which will honor USAID Missions, Bureaus, and implementing partners who are assisting countries and communities in achieving sustainable growth and resilience (the Digis).

The Digis recognize and celebrate USAID projects and activities that embrace the Agency’s strategic goals of improving development and humanitarian assistance outcomes through the use of digital technology and strengthening open, secure, and inclusive digital ecosystems.

Eligibility Criteria

The Digis will be awarded to USAID-funded projects and activities that have (1) directly deployed a digital technology or suite of technologies or (2) provided support to digital ecosystem actors to extend digital technology access and/or uptake. Digital ecosystem actors include technology providers, financial service providers, government agencies, civil society organizations, or other entities that are either deploying digital technology solutions or developing policies/regulations that enable increased access and uptake. 

How will the applications be judged?

Applications will be judged based on four criterion: 

Criteria 1 – Integration: The digital technology or digital ecosystem deployment was integrated into the strategy, design, and implementation of a USAID project or activity that contributes in a measurable way toward achieving the development objective(s). 

Criteria 2 – Principles for Digital Development: The project or activity aligns with the Principles for Digital Development(link is external) in strategy, design, and implementation. 

Criteria 3 – Impact & Sustainability: The project or activity has demonstrated significant impact thus far over the project’s life or demonstrated sustainability since the USAID support ended.  

Criteria 4 – Inclusive Development: If the project or activity is entered into the digital ecosystem support category, it should show significant action to increase equitable use of digital technologies and ensure communities and organizations are using the digital technology securely and responsibly. If the project or activity is entered into the digital technology deployment category, it should show significant effort to strengthen and/or support private sector-led engagement in the digital economy and support public institutions’ capacity or efforts to strengthen the digital economy.

What Winners Will Receive

Winners will receive Agency-wide recognition and public visibility for their groundbreaking work. This could include the following: 

  • Time with a local photographer/interviewer who will work with you to capture the story of your project through visual and written communications materials
    • A profile in a Digital Development Awards booklet
    • A feature story on the USAID Exposure or Medium platform
    • Social media coverage
  • A physical trophy and Certificate of Appreciation (to be presented at a virtual awards ceremony attended by leaders from the digital development community)

Application Process

Deadline for Applications is 3rd June 2022

Click here to start applying

For more details visit USAID Digital Development Award Page

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

Are you interested in receiving the latest grant, funding, and business opportunities? Join our newsletter for free and stay updated!

Click here to join our newsletter

Join our community:

Join our WhatsApp group

Join our Telegram group

Join our Facebook group

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top